Le Petite Project

The other day, I was conversing with a like-minded, decor-obsessed friend, who commented on how she loved animal shaped rugs. You know, like these:


Rubber! How clever! I want to touch.

A Persian Bear Rug! {I am so making this one day!}

Personally, I own two sheepskin fur throws in the shape of a bear that are currently chair pads for my Bertoia Diamond chairs. I too love these fun rugs and the ever evolving bear.

As I was reflecting on the day on my way home, an idea popped into my head.  After I tucked the kids in to bed, I got to work.  I usually have a stash of material samples at hand.  It’s one of the perks of my job.  Product lines get discontinued or clients change their minds, so there is always an abundance of displaced material samples.  Luckily, I can think of a thousand things to do with them.

I first cut half a silhouette on a folded sheet of paper.  This made a template.  Then, I pulled out some leather-like memo sized samples out of my box and started cutting away.

And here it is! A teeny-tiny handcrafted bear rug ready to reside at La Petite Maison.  More gummy bear than grizzly bear – and if you ask my hubby he’ll tell you it looks more like a turtle than bear – but cute nonetheless. And kudos to me from saving it from a landfill!

P. S. Next week I will be posting another project using MechoShade samples. Can’t wait to show you!

Leave a Reply

