Adventures in E-Decorating

Last year, my dear friend came to me with a design dilemma.  She was 5 months pregnant and was overwhelmed with the infinite possibilities of what to do with her baby’s nursery.  Being that I love a challenge, I jumped at the opportunity to help.  What was most important to my girlfriend, was to have the room reflect her and her husband’s personalities. Knowing them both well, helped to quickly formulate the idea.  I drew up a storyboard and presented this to both:

A Luchador themed Nursery!

Let  me explain, her husband is very proud of his Mexican heritage.  He has several collections of Mexican things.  One of these collections consists of Mexican toy wrestlers, otherwise known as Luchadores.  These flamboyant wrestlers are very colorful…kids like color, I thought.  And that Is how the idea was born.

They both liked the direction and settled on the concept.   To start, I modified the colors of this clever print and derived the scheme from it.  The color palette consisted of a muted, grey-blue with pops of primary colors.  Stripes in the artwork and fabrics abstractly represent the Luchador’s fighting ring.  I  helped the mama-to-be with selecting fabrics. But soon after, I learned that I was pregnant myself and stepped out of the process.  My friend took control and finished the room.  Here is how it turned out:


Her father is a tailor and lovingly sewed together the rugs. He also made the striped baby blanket from an IKEA duvet.  Such a sweet personal touch!


In the concept board, I selected red fabric for this chair.  Later I changed my mind to blue because I preferred the contrast in tones. The striped roman shades and pillows sewn by the crafty mama with leftover duvet material.

Luchador giraffe available on etsy.

The mid century modern dresser serves dual purpose, doubling as a changing table.


She found this vintage typewriter table at an antique store.  Such a colorful vignette!


My Luchador Print!  Available at my Etsy store!


The room turned out like her little boy, adorable! I think she did an amazing job and really executed the idea.  I always say that once you have a direction, everything else just falls into place. This is a shining example.

Thanks Erika for letting me do my first from e-decorating to real room post!

Do you have a design dilemma? Send it in to lavitapetite@gmail.com.  You may be my next decorating adventure!

Leave a Reply

