Client Project

If you have been following my blog, you know that when it comes to interiors….I have a certain aesthetic.  My personal taste is very girly, eclectic, and modern.  But when it comes to designing for other people, it should always be a happy compromise.

When my client first approached me about creating some boards for a newly renovated portion of her home, I have to say that I was a bit hesitant.  My client’s style was a lot more traditional than anything I have ever done before but I do love a challenge-yes I do.  I soon learned that though she did have this strong preferred aesthetic, she also had a really fun side, and more important than anything-she was very open to suggestions.  The lady of the house also loves pattern, especially bold ones. We def have in common, I love a good pattern. The client also had a flair for decadence. And what perfect opportunity to use luxurious (girly-ish) pieces, such as mirrored furniture and venetian mirrors. So my plan was to choose patterns and shapes with a traditional look/motif but keep the overall lines simple and modern.  A good example of this is the lamps.  I selected a very traditional shape like an urn but kept the shade a modern drum with clean lines. Another example is the rugs.  The patterns are very traditional in form like the paisley, but with the larger scale it gives it a touch of modern.  I tend to think that when something is ‘too modern’ or ‘too traditional’ it can fast be dated.  So I think balancing these elements is the key to longevity.

Here’s how her boards turned out:

1  2. Similar  3   4   5   6   7  8

 1  2  3  4   5   6A  6B    7   8  9  10

1   2  3  4    6  7

Thanks so much Mrs. Lozano, for being great to work with! I had fun. I can’t wait to see your end result!

Leave a Reply

